New Chairman of the NATO Military Committee

Admiral Giampaolo Di Paola, former Chief of the Italian Defense Staff, assumed today the position of Chairman of the NATO Military Committee – NATO's top military officer – from outgoing Canadian Gen. Ray Henault.


1 Jul. 2008

Trust Fund contributes to good governance

NATO launched a Trust Fund to build integrity and promote best practices in defence establishments on 1 July 2008. The official agreements were signed at the Alliance's headquarters by NATO Deputy Secretary General and representatives of the three lead nations – Poland, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

1-2 Jul. 2008

NATO conference addresses helicopter needs

On 1-2 July 2008 200 delegates from NATO and Partner countries attended the Transport Helicopter Conference held by NATO's Conference of National Armaments Directors (CNAD) in Brussels.

30 Jun. 2008

NATO AWACS demonstrates worldwide deployability

After months of comprehensive preparation, the first-ever deployment to Australia became a reality when NATO AWACS departed for Exercise Pitch Black, which took place in Darwin from 2 to 27 June.

16 Jul.. 2008

NATO TV launches summer school lectures

Dr. Jamie Shea, Director, Policy Planning, Private Office of the Secretary General, and former NATO Spokesman, talks about "NATO: present challenges; future possibilities" in a series of 6 lectures to be broadcast exclusively on the NATO TV Channel.


Meeting of the North Atlantic Council Albania and Croatia

Signing ceremony of the Protocols of Accession


Wednesday 9 July 2008

A meeting of the North Atlantic Council with the foreign ministers of the two invited countries – Albania and Croatia – will be held at 10:15 on Wednesday 9 July 2008, at NATO Headquarters, for the signing ceremony of the Protocols of Accession.





Media representatives will be accredited at the NATO Site Entrance on presentation of a valid press card and valid identification documents. Media representatives without a valid press card in their possession need to contact NATO (see email below) no later than 7 July 2008. NATO accredited journalists need not request special accreditation.


9:00                Distribution of Pool cards to visual media representatives

9:45                Visual media Pool (A&B) leaves by bus from NATO HQ visitors' entrance for the conference room

10:15              Signing Ceremony – speeches by the Secretary General, by the Dean of the Council, and by Heads of Delegations of the two Invited Countries, signature  of the Protocols of Accession – coverage from the balcony of the conference room (Pool A&B)

10:30              Visual media representatives holding a Pool Card "B" and not covering Pool A leave from the Media Office to cover the Official Portrait

10:50              Holders of Pool B covering the Conference Room leave from Conference Room to join the Official Portrait pool

10:55              Official Portrait (Pool B)

11:00              News Conference by the NATO Secretary General and the Foreign Ministers of Albania and Croatia – open access, live on CCTV